Sunrisers Hyderabad Lifts Maiden IPL Trophy

By Obaid ur Rehman.

Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli, inspite of their massive scores, could not stop David Warner’s Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) from winning their maiden title and it was Sunrisers Hyderabad who became the champion of 9th edition of Indian Premier League at the home of opponents Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). After putting the total of 208, Sunrisers Hyderabad remained calm in the heat of grand finale of IPL and after a nail bighting contest, it was Sunrisers Hyderabad who came up triumphant and crowned the championship of VIVO IPL 2016.

After winning the toss, David Warner opted to bat first and initiated the aggressive start. David Warner could not really charge the RCB bowlers in the earlier overs, but later in 5th and 6th Overs, the openers took the bowlers to the cleaner and smashed them really hard. After losing his partner, Shikhar Dhawan (28 from 25 balls), David Warner didn’t change his playing mood and remained aggressive and kept on hitting hard.

In the 14th Over, David Warner finally got dismissed on 69 in 38 balls only, but Yuvraj Singh came, took the responsibility on his shoulders and played strokes all over the stadium. Yuvraj Singh smashed four boundaries and two sixes with clean hitting, however he also got dismissed in 17th over, scoring 38 runs in 23 balls as a whole. After Yuvraj Singh, it was Ben Cutting who applied the finishing stuff and helped Sunrisers Hyderabad to cross the 200-line and put a total of 208 on board. Ben Cutting proved to be severe on Shane Watson who came to bowl the final over of the innings. Cutting carved away the first ball through covers, hit the second delivery out of the stadium and then smashed the third delivery for six again over midwicket. Cutting finalized the innings in an aggressive and stylish way too, hitting the final ball of the innings into the stands at long-off, adding 39 runs to his name in 15 balls.

Virat Kohli, IPL

Virat Kohli has scored 973 runs in IPL 2016, became the Highest Run-Scorer in a Single IPL Edition.

Sunrisers Hyderabad scored 12, 16 and 24 runs in last three overs respectively and signed-off the innings at 208-7. The captain David Warner and Ben Cutting were the men of moments who helped their team post their highest ever total on board. For Kohli’s RCB, it was Chris Jordan who despite not being at his best, was the most successful bowler having figures 4-0-45-3. The left-arm quick Arvind was impressive too and took 2 wickets. He had the figures of 4-0-30-2. One of the best all rounders Shane Watson could not put the effective figures and conceded 61 runs in his four overs.

Inspite of huge target, yet it was not predictable at all to say that Warner’s men would defend the total because on the other end, there were some big names having the abilities to turn the tides in their favour. These giants were the skipper Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Chris Gayle and Shane Watson. RCB’s chase consisted of two halves when Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli laid the perfect platform for chasing the massive target of 208 by adding 114 runs in 10.3 overs. In this partnership, Gayle dominated and scored a 25-ball half century and got dismissed on 76. He smashed four boundaries and eight massive and huge sixes. After Chris Gayle’s dismissal, Virat Kohli accelerated his innings in his own style from 32 and scored 54 in 35 balls. Kohli’s innings included five boundaries and two huge sixes. Virat Kohli also became the highest run-scorer in the IPL history by scoring 973 runs in a single edition.

Before the dismissals of Gayle and Kohli, it was looking pretty much easier for Royals of Bangalore to chase down the target and become the IPL champion for the first time. But fate showed its other plans when we witnessed a series of dismissals thereafter which included the huge wickets of AB de Villiers, KL Rahul and Shane Watson. Wickets falling down on regular intervals faded away all the hopes for RCB and derailed all the super work being done by the openers Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli. RCB finally finished their twenty overs at 200-7, falling 8 runs short of the total.

IPL_Inner Image

SRH beats RCB in a Nail-Bighter Finale and lifts maiden IPL Trophy.

Finally it was David Warner’s Sunrisers Hyderabad who became the champion of IPL 2016 by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore in their home ground. David Warner’s captaincy and leadership qualities have been praised in this IPL season by all the cricket experts. The way he has lead the team and performed almost in every match took his cricketing profile on a high note. On the other end, RCB’s performance must be appreciated as they were once almost at the bottom of table but under the leadership of Virat Kohli, RCB jumped again and secured the second spot on the table after conclusion of Round Robin matches. Both the teams RCB and SRH richly deserved to be VIVO IPL 2016 Champion as far their performance is concerned in all departments, but one team has to win and other one has to lose, it’s the sportsmanship and the game that need to win. At the end, it was Sunrisers Hyderabad’s men who held their nerves in crucial moments and ultimately won the IPL-9 Crown.

Obaid ur Rehman

The writer is Islamabad based Journalist and a Sports Analyst.
He can be reached at;


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *