Misbah-ul-Haq wins “ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2016”

Pakistan’s Test Captain Misbah-ul-Haq has been awarded with the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2016 becoming the first Pakistani player to have been awarded with this award. The 42-year old Pakistan’s most successful test captain was adjudged the winner of inspiring Pakistani players to play the game in fair manner.

According to ICC’s official press release, Misbah-ul-Haq, at the same time, also lifted team Pakistan from number-four to number-one in ICC Test Rankings. The most remarkable stat is that Misbah-ul-Haq has achieved this feat without playing a single test at his own home grounds.

With Misbah, becoming the first ever Pakistani to win ICC Spirit of Cricket Award, the previous winners of this award were Brendon McCullum (2015), Katherine Brunt (2014), Mahela Jayawardena (2013), Daniel Vettori (2012) & Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2011). As a team, New Zealand won this award in 2004, 2009 and 2010, England in 2005 and 2006, and Sri Lanka in 2007 and 2008.

Misbah-ul-Haq also commented upon winning the award and said that he feels honoured and humbled to have won the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2016. He said that lifting Test Mace earlier this year and now winning this award is the twilight of his career. It is message for every athlete that age does not matter as long as sportsperson maintains highest levels of fitness and continues performing upto international standards, Misbah stated.

Pakistan’s skipper also said that as a team, the guys have always focused on playing within the rich traditions of the sport with a positive mindset and approach so that they could challenge their oppositions and entertain their supporters and fans at the same time as well. He said that he is happy and glad that this has been noticed and recognized by the game’s governing body, the ICC statement quoted him as saying.

Other Winners of ICC Awards 2016

ICC Cricketer of the Year: Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Ravichandran Ashwin (India)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

ICC T20I Performance of the Year: Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies)

ICC Associate / Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award 2016: Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)

ICC Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus (South Africa)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *