Karachi qualifies for play-offs, Lahore’s journey comes to an end

Karachi Kings have booked the play-off place in the Second Edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) by beating Islamabad United in a rain-affected match by six wickets. Kieron Pollard, Saturday’s mastermind behind Kings’ win over Lahore Qalandars with consecutive sixes on the last two balls of the match, once again struck the winning boundary to win it for Karachi. With Karachi’s victory, Qalandars’ journey of PSL finally came to an end.

Following a whole day of massive rain in Dubai, the match started after the delay of 90 minutes and both the teams were given 15 Overs each to bowl. Kings’ skipper Kumar Sangakkara after winning the toss decided to bowl first and restricted United to 123-7 in 15 Overs with disciplined bowling. Dwayne Smith was the top scorer for the side, who scored handy knock of 49 runs in 36 balls while Muhammad Amir, Sohail Khan and Usman Khan took couple of wickets each.

Chasing 124 in 15 Overs, Karachi Kings were required to score at least 111 in order to qualify for Play-Offs and eliminate Lahore Qalandars from the competition. Chris Gayle, who was out of form throughout the league, regained his form with a short but storming innings of 44 from just 17 balls. The big left-hander smashed two consecutive sixes to Muhammad Irfan and then smashed another three maximum off Saeed Ajmal, besides striking two fours as well.

League’s Top Scorer and in-form Babar Azam could only score 27 in the match and other wickets fell quickly too. But Pollard and Ravi Bopara finally took the Karachi Kings to the side of Play-Offs, with Pollard hitting the final boundary.

On the completion of Round Robin, the final four have been decided. Peshawar Zalmi will meet Quetta Gladiators in the first play-off while Islamabad United will contest Karachi Kings in second play-off. The winner of first play-off will directly qualify for the Final whereas second finalist would be determined after the third play-off in which loser of first play-off will face the winner of second play-off.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *