Aquaman becomes highest grossing DC Universe film

Entertainment Desk

The DC Extended Universe (DCEU) superhero film Aquaman has surpassed Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice to become the highest grossing film in the DCEU.

Aquaman has now grossed $1.023 billion worldwide surpassing expectations, and looks set to overtake The Dark Knight Rises which is currently the highest grossing film based on a DC character.

Aquaman has grossed over $1 billion becoming the highest grossing DC Extended Universe film.

The film starring Jason Momoa and Amber Heard had its world premiere in London on November 26, 2018, and was released in the United States by Warner Bros. Pictures on December 21, 2018.

Aquaman has received praise from critics for its tone, direction, and cinematography, but received criticism for its plot, dialogue, and runtime.

The film tells the origin story of the half-surface dweller, half-Atlantean Arthur Curry, that takes him on the journey of his lifetime — one that will not only force him to face who he really is, but to discover if he is worthy of who he was born to be: the king of Atlantis.

The action-packed adventure spans the vast, visually breathtaking underwater world of the seven seas, and stars Jason Momoa in the title role.

It also stars Amber Heard, Willem Dafoe, Patrick Wilson, Dolph Lundgren, Yahya Abdul-Mateen II and Oscar winner Nicole Kidman.

The film was directed by James Wan and produced on a budget of around $160-200 million.

This film is the sixth release in the DCEU which started with the Superman origin story Man Of Steel (2013).

DCEU (DC Extended Universe):

The DC Extended Universe (DCEU) refers to the shared universe that is centered on superhero films distributed by Warner Bros. based on characters that appear in comic books by DC Comics. These characters include fan favourite such as Superman, Batman, The Flash and Wonder Woman. Warner Bros. has released 6 in the DCEU including:

Man Of Steel (2013)

A reboot of Superman, this film started the DCEU by telling the origin story of Superman, DC Comic’s most famous character. The movie starred Henry Cavill in the title role of Clark Kent/Superman, who received praise for his performance. Man Of Steel’s box office gross was $668 million on the production budget of $225 million. The movie received mixed reviews from critics.

Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016)

This movie introduced Ben Affleck as the new Batman in the DC Universe, with Henry Cavill reprising his role as Superman. Wonder Woman played by Gal Gadot was also introduced in the film which centers around a showdown between Batman and Superman. The film received poor reviews from critics and its box office gross was $873.6 million against the production budget of $250 million.

Suicide Squad (2016)

This movie is based on the DC Comics supervillain team of the same name, starring an ensemble cast including Will Smith, Margot Robbie and Jared Leto. The film receives positive reviews and a box office gross of $746.8 million against a production budget of $175 million. This movie was the 10th highest-grossing movie of 2016.

Wonder Woman (2017)

Wonder Woman set a precedent as one of the first blockbuster superhero movies featuring a female character. The movie starred Gal Gadot in the title role and was critically and commercially successful. Wonder Woman grossed $821.8 million in the box office against a production budget of $120-150 million. Wonder Woman was highest grossing DCEU movie till the release of Aquaman.

Justice League (2017)

This movie is based on the DC Comics superhero team of the same name. The film includes all of the main DC superheroes including Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Cyborg and The Flash. Justice League received extremely poor reviews from critics for excessive use of CGI, and a weak story. This was the highest budget movie DCEU film produced on a budget of $300 million with a box office collection of just $657 million.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *